Update to On Writing Poetry

My experiment with writing more lyrical poetry including sonnets and more themes focused on love has been a mixed success.  I posted everything I wrote, the good, the bad and the ugly.  Some of it was enjoyed by the small audience who stops by and some ignored.  With Sonnet 4 which was Petrarchan I took the rhyming words first and built a poem around those.  I was tired when I did it, an attempt at humor that came out bland.  I also broke the 10 syllable rule in the Shakespearean.  Of the total written there were two song type lyrics one working better than the other.  Like Irving Berlin supposedly said  about song writing applies to Poetry, “Writing songs is easy, writing good songs is hard.”

Leave a Reply

